musings from the pink chair

comforts

Posted on: 15 February 2010

the greatest comfort food in the entire world is pumpkin scones.

this is not my opinion.  it is a scientific fact.  there is nothing, NOTHING better than a pumpkin scone, especially in the dead of winter when it’s dark and cold and wet and depressing and all you want is to be warm and cozy.

this is the recipe i use, and they always turn out fantastic.  except i only put on the spiced glaze and leave out the white.  and no, the rachel who posted the recipe is not me.

but probably the best pumpkin scone i have ever had came from alice’s tea cup in manhattan.  my friend devin took me there last time i was in new york about a year ago, and i have been fantasizing about the brunch we had there ever since.  so if you’re ever in new york…go there and get a scone and some tea.  it’s not an option.  you have to.  it’s that good.

ANYWAY, i made a batch of pumpkin scones today because it’s freezing cold and i’m seriously ready to break out my shorts, flip flops, and swimsuit.  but since it’s still only february, i have to rely on the world’s greatest comfort food to keep me from slipping into a winter-induced coma.

Leave a Reply

About

I'm a twentysomething journalist who lives in Atlanta, loves all things artsy, and updates this blog from the cozy pink chair in my living room. More?

Twitter

Categories

I’d like to keep my job

The views expressed on this blog are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer or its affiliates. KTHXBAI.
