musings from the pink chair

mi gente

Posted on: 2 October 2009

i had a slightly awkward conversation with an overly friendly checkout guy while shopping today:

checkout guy: [looks at my credit card] your last name is rodriguez?
me: [confused] um, yeah
guy: …are you hispanic?
me: [more confused] yeah, half
guy: [excitedly] oh!  my wife is hispanic!
me: [polite smile and acknowledging “ah”]
guy: [huge smile, silence]
me: [awkward silence, waiting for some sort of anecdote or comment or point for the ethnicity mention]
guy: [huge smile, apparently non-awkward silence]

and…scene.  that was it.  i was like, what, are we supposed to bond now?  because your wife is latina and i’m semi-latina?  i have nothing to say about that.  really, like how was i supposed to respond?  what was he expecting?  “OMG NO WAY!  there are so few hispanics in the US; i can’t believe i found someone else with hispanic relatives!  OMG, IS SHE CUBAN?!  no?  oh, too bad.  we could have bonded some more.”

so yes, i know he was just making conversation, but…awkward.  dude, couldn’t you just complain about the freezing cold weather?

Leave a Reply

About

I'm a twentysomething journalist who lives in Atlanta, loves all things artsy, and updates this blog from the cozy pink chair in my living room. More?

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories

I’d like to keep my job

The views expressed on this blog are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer or its affiliates. KTHXBAI.
