musings from the pink chair

the dangers of reply all

Posted on: 7 August 2009

a friend of mine from college forwarded me this fabulous conversation a few months ago, but it’s so amusing that i feel the need to share it now.  it starts out with this email that someone sent to a listserv he’s on AT WORK.  (i’ve removed the identifying info, because GOOD GOD.)

Hey All, I am a looking for a person to help me live at my place for the weekend. I live in a 2 BR/ 2 BATH condo in the U St. Corridor with a young physician, who works at Walter Reed (ultra nice and super cool dude). We have internet, Comcast cable, washer/dryer, dishwasher, brand new furniture and large screen television. We are 10 min. off of the U St. Metro so there’s plenty of people to do and things to see.

A little about me: I am in a long-distance relationship, but I am always looking to meet up with new people. I work hard and I am also currently in an exhausting application cycle. I am looking for someone to help me blow off some steam.

Let me know if you are interesting and would like to check me out.

[name]

DEAR LORD. but it gets better, because here’s what some girl accidentally replied all:

Hi [name],

I am so excited that you posted this message. I am in a very similar
situation and would love to “get away” for a weekend! I love the U st.
area and am excited about the possibility of living there for a
weekend.

I’d love to meet up and get to know you a bit before we become
roommates.

I look forward to hearing from you and hope that we have a similar
weekend in mind :)

[name]

so, let’s just be clear: they are hooking up, and now everybody at their office knows about it.  excellent work, kids.  stellar, really.

Leave a Reply

About

I'm a twentysomething journalist who lives in Atlanta, loves all things artsy, and updates this blog from the cozy pink chair in my living room. More?

Twitter

Categories

I’d like to keep my job

The views expressed on this blog are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer or its affiliates. KTHXBAI.
